Education to Workforce Program

Thursday, April 11, 2024

8:30 am - 2:30 pm


Location: Cheyenne Mountain Resort: Colorado Ballroom

The Education to Workforce program being held during the 39th Space Symposium is a full day event featuring several discussions with high level educational leadership. The dialogues will focus on the education pipeline to meet the increasing demand for quality workers in the burgeoning space ecosystem. 

8:30am – Welcome Remarks 

    • Dr. Melissa Patton, Space Foundation 

8:35am – Industry Panel Remarks

    • Kelli Kedis Ogborn, Space Foundation 

8:50am – Industry Panel: Industry Innovators Championing Inclusive Futures  

    • Melanie Stricklan, Space Workforce 2030 – Moderator 
    • Mike Edmonds, Blue Origin
    • Mike French, Aerospace Industries Association 
    • Elaine Ho, NASA
    • Joseph Horvath, Nova Space
    • Via Van Liew, Aerospace Corporation
    • Mandy Vaughn, GXO

10:00am -Networking Break 

10:15am – University Leadership Panel Remarks

    • Dr. Quincy Brown, NSpC

10:30am – University Leadership Panel: Preparing the Workforce to Meet the Needs of the Space Industry 

    • Dr. Greg Autry, Thunderbird School of Global Management – Moderator
    • Dr. Mordecai Ian Brownlee, Community College of Aurora 
    • Dr. Janine Davidson, Metropolitan State University 
    • Mike Kincaid, NASA Office of STEM Education
    • Dr. Rachelle Keck, Grand View University 
    • Robert Milner, Sam Houston State University
    • Dr. Henrietta Pichon, University of Colorado at Colorado Springs

11:40am – Networking Break 

12:00pm – Lunch 

12:45pm – Networking Break 

1:00pm – International Panel Remarks

    • Dr. Tidiane Ouattara, African Union Commission 

1:15pm – International Panel: Multilateral Collaboration on Capacity Building of Education to Workforce

    • David Thomas, MILO Space Institute – Moderator 
    • Robert Aillon, Leviathan Space Industries 
    • Natavan Hasanova, Azercosmos
    • Rafael Kargren, Arizona State University
    • Melody Korman, Rakia Mission
    • Anna Moore, Australian National University
    • Dr. Tidiane Ouattara, African Union Commission 
    • Dr. Muhammad Sharif, ICESCO 

2:25pm – Closing Remarks 

    • Dr. Melissa Patton, Space Foundation 

This event is open to all Space Symposium registrants